Home » Home

The 2013 Conference has concluded.  The 2014 Conference dates will be November 7-8, 2014, on the Fayetteville Square and University of Arkansas Campus.  We hope to see you there!

Congratulations to the 2013 Undergraduate Student Award Winners!

Biological Sciences

Prize  Student name (s) Institution  Abstract #
1st oral Carrie Yang Hendrix College B3
2nd oral Laura Gentles UA – Fayetteville B22

Prize  Student name (s) Institution  Abstract # 
1st poster Lizzie Goodwin-Horn Hendrix College B48
2nd poster Stephen Cates Northeastern State Univ B44
Hon. Mention Kyle Crosser John Brown Univ B67
  Tyler Files Ouachita Baptist Univ B20
Julianna Grillot UA – Fayetteville B6

Chemistry and Biochemistry

Prize Student name (s) Institution Abstract #
1st oral Julie Davis Univ Central Arkansas C32
2nd oral Pete Brunson Ouachita Baptist Univ C4
Hon. Mention Hunter Wayland Henderson State Univ C9

Prize Student name (s) Institution Abstract #
1st poster Saad Azam UA – Little Rock C15
2nd poster Jessie Meyer Ouachita Baptist Univ C8
Hon. Mention Timothy Horton Ouachita Baptist Univ C3
  Jean de Dieu Nubundiho Philander Smith College C38
  Ryan Rogers Univ Central Arkansas C26
Jordana Thibado UA – Fayetteville C1


Prize Student name (s) Institution Abstract #
1st oral Mathias Bellaiche UA – Fayetteville P7
2nd oral Austin Shearin Missouri State Univ P16
Hon. Mention Mark Sellers Rhodes College P11

Prize Student name (s) Institution Abstract #
1st poster Barbara Rutter Southern Arkansas Univ P24
2nd poster Lafatette DeRamus UA – Little Rock P9
Hon. Mention Greg Sheffer Univ Central Arkansas P14
  Luke Spinolo Rhodes College P15
  Josh Thompson UA – Fayetteville P5

The Arkansas INBRE Research Conference involves participation from colleges and universities in Arkansas and surrounding states in biological sciences, physics and chemistry and biochemistry.

This conference is sponsored by the Arkansas INBRE. It is hosted by the departments of Biological Sciences, Physics, and Chemistry and Biochemistry - Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, University of Arkansas.

Conference Planning Committee

  • Roger Koeppe, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Bill Durham, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Denise Greathouse, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Leslie Johnson, chemistry and biochemistry
  • Kimberly Smith, biological sciences
  • Reeta Vyas, physics

Arkansas INBRE

The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The IDeA program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research.

The Arkansas INBRE builds on the successful Arkansas Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) program that was established in 2001 under a grant from NIGMS. The Arkansas BRIN established a statewide network that links Arkansas institutions of higher education to establish a statewide infrastructure in support of a growing effort to build a biomedical research capacity in Arkansas.