Home » Home

The 2014 Conference has concluded. Congratulations to the award winners listed below.

Congratulations to the 2014 Undergraduate Student Award Winners!
1st Place Oral
Avery Hill, UA-Fayetteville
Optical Analysis of Metal-Semiconductor-Metal Photodetectors with Gold Interdigital Electrodes and a GaAs Substrate
2nd Place Oral
Gavin Hester, Missouri State University
Neutron Scattering Study of Lithium-Ions in Conducting Glassy Electrolytes for Battery Applications
1st Place Poster
Joshua Grant, Southern Arkansas University
Growth and Initial Characterization of Ge1-xSnx Films
2nd Place Poster
Lafayette TaShon DeRamus, UA-Little Rock
Determining Optimal Characteristics for CIGS/CdS Solar Cells through AFORS-HET Simulation Program
Honorable Mention
Otis Perkins, University of Central Arkansas
Effects of Microgravity and Radiation on Elastic Modulus of Rat Femurs Using 3-Point Bending
Chemistry & Biochemistry
1st Place Oral
T. Ryan Rogers, University of Central Arkansas
Computational Investigation of the Surface Tension of Supercooled Water
2nd Place Oral
Lindsey Orgren, Hendrix College
Synthesis of the VMAT2 Inhibitor Tetrabenazine
Honorable Mention
James Thomas, Henderson State University
Preparation of fluorinated vanillins: Efforts towards selectively fluorinated curcumins
1st Place Poster
Jennifer Rote, Rhodes College
Synthesis of Dopamine Analogues and Anaylsis in Human Cytosolic Sulfotransferase and Catechol-O-methyltransferase Enzymes
2nd Place Poster
Hayden Pacl, UA-Fayetteville
Folding energies of regions within wild-type staphylococcal nuclease determined by hydrogen-deuterium exchange electrospray ionization mass spectrometry
Honorable Mention
Diana Bigler, Rhodes College
Effects of implicit solvation, relaxed amino acid side chains, and point mutations on the MP2 and DFT calculations of ligand-protein structure and interaction energies of dopaminergic ligands in the SULT1A3 enzyme active site.
Juan Diego Gaucin, Pittsburg State University
Low temperature FT-IR investigation of C-C bond formation on TiO2-based nanomaterials
Zachary Hicks, UA-Little Rock
Novel Carbon-Based supercapacitors
H Cass Martin, University of Central Arkansas
Localization of Rat CYP2E1 Impacts Mechanisms for Substrate Metabolism
Armin Mortazavi, UA-Fayetteville
Detection of Helix Fraying in Designed Transmembrane Alpha Helices
Margaret Grace Oliver, UA-Fayetteville
Fluorescent Cell Imaging Studies of Antitumor Natural Macrocycle Ipomoeassin F
Jordana Thibado, UA-Fayetteville
Influence of Cholesterol on Arginine-Containing Transmembrane Helical Peptides
Biological Sciences
1st Place Oral
Mary-Kate Williams, UA-Little Rock
Spore Persistence in the Environment Drives Infection Dynamics of a Butterfly Pathogen
2nd Place Oral
Kelley Ballard, Ouachita Baptist University
The Effects of Ajulemic Acid on Cell Viability and Angiogenesis in Ewing’s Sarcoma Cancerous Tumors
Honorable Mention
Peter Reed, UA-Fayetteville
Effects of Salinity and Hormone Treatment on Gill Claudin Expression in Japanese medaka (Oryzias latipes)
1st Place Poster
Baronger Bieger, Ouachita Baptist University
Ouachita Baptist University
2nd Place Poster
Luke DeYoung, John Brown University
PKC substrate changes during Coxiella burnetii infection of host cells
Honorable Mention
Lauren Morehead, Southern Arkansas University
Gene discovery for bioactive phenylpropanoids in Echinacea species
Edouard Niyonsaba, University of Central Arkansas
Estrogen-mediated mechanisms for regulation of voltage-gated, calcium channels in coronary arteries
Gregory Phelps, Arkansas State University
Use of DNA Barcodes to Identify Arkansas Native Plants, Potential Sources of Leads Against Drug-Resistant Leukemia Cells
Samuel Shry, UA-Little Rock
Investigating genetic basis of migratory timing using circadian clock genes in spring Chinook salmon (Oncorhynchus tshawytscha)

    The Arkansas INBRE Research Conference involves participation from colleges and universities in Arkansas and surrounding states in biological sciences, physics and chemistry and biochemistry.

    This conference is sponsored by the Arkansas INBRE. It is hosted by the departments of Biological Sciences, Physics, and Chemistry and Biochemistry - Fulbright College of Arts and Sciences, University of Arkansas.

    Conference Planning Committee

    • Roger Koeppe, chemistry and biochemistry
    • Bill Durham, chemistry and biochemistry
    • Denise Greathouse, chemistry and biochemistry
    • Leslie Johnson, chemistry and biochemistry
    • Kimberly Smith, biological sciences
    • Reeta Vyas, physics

    Arkansas INBRE

    The Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (Arkansas INBRE) is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS), under the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) Program of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The IDeA program was established for the purpose of broadening the geographic distribution of NIH funding for biomedical and behavioral research.

    The Arkansas INBRE builds on the successful Arkansas Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) program that was established in 2001 under a grant from the National Center for Research Resources (NCRR). The Arkansas BRIN established a statewide network that links Arkansas institutions of higher education to establish a statewide infrastructure in support of a growing effort to build a biomedical research capacity in Arkansas.